If You Love Reading Like Kumkum Bhagya’s Pragya, These 5 Books Should Be On Your List

Wondering which book to start next? The Kumkum Bhagya actress has some good recommendations.

Sriti Jha as Pragya Arora from Kumkum Bhagya

Kumkum Bhagya is one of the most popular shows on Zee TV. While Shabir Ahluwalia plays Abhi, Sriti Jha plays Pragya and the onscreen jodi is one of the most loved couples on television. We were recently going through the actress’ social media account and discovered that she is a voracious reader. Not only is her love for books is legendary, but she is also known to carry one with her at all times and never loses an opportunity to read on or off the sets.

If you enjoy reading just like the Kumkum Bhagya actress, here are her five recommendations.

1. Sapiens A Brief History of Human Kind by Yuval Noah Harari

2. 1984 by George Orwell

3. The Sense of An Ending by Julian Barnes

View this post on Instagram

I had to re-read this one as a part of my booker reading marathon. This is one of my favourite books of all times. Urban loneliness is one of my favourite motifs in literature in general. So it’s philosophically self evident why I read this book over and over again, and love it more each time. I have finished this book in less than two days(and while I am working) Mostly because of its form. It’s in first person narrative, so it’s more like having a chat with the storyteller It’s compliacated in its thought. Urban loneliness is the dominating motif, and is being discovered/discussed philosophically. So read at your own risk… could cause a lot of damage if you’re not going through the best of times. But don’t we all like to read things that cracks a little bit of our belief systems. It’s about helpless remorse of not being able to get it It’s about Tony Webster recounting and old affair, discovering we do tamper with facts when we tell our stories… even when we’re telling it to ourselves. #manbooker50thanniversary #manbooker50 #julianbarnes #thesenseofanending #bookstagram

A post shared by Sriti Jha (@itisriti) on

4. The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood

View this post on Instagram

The blind assassin by Margaret Atwood This is one of the most pacey booker prize winning books I’ve read. It’s an absolutely thrilling story. The storytelling is ever so spicy, and yet deep with badass social commentary She tells it like she’s telling you a secret. She doesn’t word it out, she leaves it to the reader’s speculation and gratifyingly says ‘you guessed it right’ Its an evaluation of the general sense of justice and vengeance.It’s about family. it’s about shared secrets of love and loss. It’s about how ‘the fist is not just the sum of its fingers’ 😊 #manbooker50thanniversary #manbooker50 #bookstagram #chaiaurkitaab #booksandtea #margaretatwood #theblindassassin #theblindassassinbymargaretatwood

A post shared by Sriti Jha (@itisriti) on

5. Good Omens by Terry Pritchett and Neil Gaiman

Sriti Jha‘s fondness for reading is no secret. In fact, she loves to re-read her books and recently completed a challenge of 50 books. Her bookshelf boasts of an eclectic collection of topics. According to her, books should not be forced on people else you are taking away the fun of reading. Instead, she suggests people should choose their own books and develop individual personalities by doing so.

Which of the above books have you already read? Let us know in the comments below.

ALSO

READ

Share